Travel On

I wrote this one over a year ago and found it in a file this morning. I have come far from here so do not think this is me now.

Travel On

divorce and depression
walk together side by side
never letting go of the other
holding on by the will of satan

I can’t break loose, stuck in
the muck and mire of a golden hoof
everything falling around me
as I sleep away the possibilities
of life

yes, I left you, yes I wanted to
yes, I needed to, yes, I left you
and what I thought was the main
move, all it seems to have done
was to give me room for depression

I need to get up, need to stand again
need to walk down the street with my
head held high, not down at my feet
preparing myself for the major fall
for it all,
just giving up as I careen
the sidewalks, kicking dust as I go
don’t cha know
I need to rise through the ashes of her
All of her, nothing left unturned
Then
I might be ok to travel on

5 responses to “Travel On

  1. *hug*

    Now you have room there for some other things as well (you ARE missing a bunny and a peeler btw – left them here hanging from the doorknob – I am filling the other one with salt to season your new year a bit after all the sweetness)

    I explained my posts already but to reiterate – send this one down the river and feel renewed love.

    Welcome to a new year.

    L,L.

Leave a Reply

