In Case

In case I fall in love again
I will remember not to feign
I shall let the new consume my soul
till I am floating on her breath

In case I fall in love again
I shall present her to my gods
asking them to allow us peace
in a world so ridden with strife

In case I fall in love again
my tears will be ready to flow
not the ones that hurt the heart
but the ones that joy the soul

In case I fall in love again
there will be no lies or stories told
they never helped anyway
so away with them they go

In case I fall in love again
I will want to ride it till the end
this will be my third time out
and that will be enough for me

In case I fall in love again
has already come
we share our truths together
and talk about the sun

In case I fall in love again
the beauty of its being
it has saved me from eternity
with just a flick and a fleeing

In case I fall in love again
I just have to say
I am lonely without her
and in love all the way

2 responses to “In Case

  1. The new…”I shall let the new consume my soul”

    It’s hard sometimes for people to be all new. It’s the best part of love. The hardest part to remember to let be. The saddest thing to lose. The one thing we often search out again and again. Just being new.

  2. I so agree, but this time I am being new, I have told many stories in the past, lies too but this time I have sworn off them and the truth will speak for me. I am liking that a lot

    al

Leave a Reply

