What It Is

what it is
my mind is running
restless tonight
thoughts of me
thoughts of you
thoughts of her
and why have I not
made myself
happy
what it is
that holds me so
and why tonight
is sleep eluding
me
oh to wander restless
among the starless night
I see a candle a light
just beyond the horizon
of my dreams
of my fears
of my desires
and why have I not
made myself
happy
what it is that
I need someone to hold
someone to evolve me
take my juices into
theirs and meet on the
plain of existence
to neuter off the fruits
left there for us by the
gods of books and tales
to read the poems
to ponder the prose
to delight in the stories
of old
tell me why
have I not
made myself
happy

Leave a Reply

