As We Walk Away

I see, I feel, I hear
your voice, your image
through my screen
could not have made me
happier, since we have to
wait, and yet I gleam
but what if we didn’t
what if we just met
like two old folks
or of lovers long ago
traveling on our own paths
to meet and say hello
would we have struck a chord
would we have stopped to say
hello, or would we have gone along
continuing on our way
I seem to feel I know for me
what would have been that day
a tip of the hat, a smile in my eye
a happy to make your acquaintance
an offer of my arm to you
as we walk away…

Leave a Reply

